United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) is a famous specialized agency, known for maintaining and promoting International collaboration via culture, science and education in order to contribute towards security and peace of the world.

The World Heritage Site is a place where UNESCO lists special cultural and physical importance containing sites. The list is sustained by International World Heritage which is administrated by UNESCO World Heritage Committee.

Till 2015, July, 1031 sites were listed as World Heritage Sites.

Accordingly, Italy hosts majority of the sites, 51 places are from Italy including the cultural and natural sites. After Italy, China, Spain, France and Germany are in the race.

Let’s have a look at some of the sites that has been included in the UNESCO World Heritage Sites till date.


Champagne Hillsides – France


Champagne Hillsides


The Production and sales of Champagne started from the site of Champagne Hillsides of France. The spectacular site was initiated in order to produce excellent wine and then shaping it into bottles, the process dates back to the 17th century. The area of the Champagne hillside is divided into 3 sections, the Saint Nicaise Hill, Hautvillers hillsides and Avenue of Champagne. The site was added to UNESCO World Heritage site list in 2015.


Ephesus – Turkey


Ephesus – Turkey


The Ephesus is an ancient Greek city of Turkey, located on the coast of Ionia. The site was built in 10th Century by Greek Colonists. The Ephesus flourished when it came in the control of Roman Republic. It had a population of 56,000 people which makes it the third largest city of the Roman period. The city gained its fame for its Artemis temple, it was served as an important commercial center. The Ephesus ruins became a popular and internationally recognized tourist attraction widely, and because of its historic importance and ancient relics it was added to the UNESCO World Heritage site list in 2015. Not only this, the site is also known as the new Seven Wonders of the World.


Great Barrier Reef – Australia


Great Barrier Reef - Australia


The Great Barrier Reef of Australia is a remarkable site containing largest collection of coral reefs, and it also holds the scientific importance. In 1981, the beautiful site of the Barrier reef was added to the UNESCO World Heritage Site list. The area covers around 348000sq.km, and it contains 1500 species of fish and 400 coral species. You will not find such biodiversity in any other World Heritage site other than Great Barrier Reef of Australia.


The Forth Bridge – Scotland


The Forth Bridge – Scotland


The Forth Bridge is Scotland’s longest Cantilever bridge which was opened in 1890 and still today continues to carry people from one end to another. The bridge was given its architecture by English engineers Sir Benjamin Baker and Sir John Fowler. The bridge is well-known for its magnificence and it continues to be the 2nd longest cantilever span bridge of the world.


The Imperial Palace – China


The Imperial Palace – China


The Imperial Palace of the Ming and Qing Dynasty was constructed in 1625 till 1626. It has added historical importance to the Qing Dynasty and to the Northern tribes of China. It has an important library of China’s last Dynasty. The Imperial Palace was the Royal residence of the emperors of that time. The site is also known as the Forbidden City. The beautiful site of the Imperial Palace was added to the UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1987 and then in 2004.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here